Hocus, Pocus, Focus

O’ Where o’ where has my poor Focus gone? I really wish I knew.

More importantly what have I done to send you far, far away?

Come back baby. I promise I’ll make it worthwhile if you come back. I didn’t mean whatever it was that made you leave. Would me going to relationship counseling bring you back to my awaiting psyche? I’ll do whatever it takes. Please. I’m begging you! COME BACK.

Dear Focus,
E. J. is beside herself with grief and frustration. You have left her feeling vulnerable all because of your own selfish need to have a holiday. Or are you such a wimp that as soon as things got tough you ran away. You should be ashamed of yourself for leaving the one person who truly loves and respects you.

Mrs. Angry Writer.

Dear Focus,
Don’t listen to her. I know she’s angry but let’s concentrate on getting you home. What do you need? A holiday? Money? Frame work? Come home, where you belong. There is no threat of demotion. You are an important member of the team. Reply soon or we’ll have to open the position to other members of the writing community.

From the Administration Section of E. J. Incorporated.

Dear …
I’m missing you so much.

I don’t know what to do sweetie. I respected you. I did what you wanted to do and as soon as I applied a little restriction on our work ethic you bailed on me. I know life got a little, well more than a little, frustrating but that’s life. That’s no reason to bailout now is it? I hope that when you come back, you will be confident enough to tell me where you went. I miss you terribly. By the way why couldn’t you take me on a holiday? I need one too!

E. J.

LOST:

E. J. McLaughlin’s Focus.

Her Focus has been lost since the 10th of January 2012. If you know the whereabouts of this most treasured member of the family please don’t hesitate to call …

She is a member of an elite writing group with great administration skills. She organizes and remains loyal to one project at a time. Should you spot this lost soul please, please ring me anytime of the day.

A reward is being offered. $100.00

(Sorry about the reward being so low but without Focus there’s no cash coming in.)

But until Focus returns, I must still ponder … O’ where o’ where has my poor Focus gone …

Please hurry home, writing’s been pretty dull without you.

I miss you.

Signing out in frustration,

E. J. McLaughlin

Leave a Reply

